Time to Explore Ashore
Place House (in Place of course)
We decided to spend a day in this lovely weather exploring the Roseland Peninsula opposite St Mawes.
So we took the ferry across the estuary to a place called Place, where we passed the impressive looking Place House. This was first built as a country house in 1288 and then remodelled and extended in ~1840. It has been owned by the Spry family for 400 years, including Admiral Thomas Davy Spry, who served with Nelson and retired to live here.
We also visited St Anthony's Church next door and found this a peaceful and beautiful place.
Doug examining the lectern in St Anthony's Church
We found a memorial to Admiral Thomas Spry, overlooked by a young jack tar and a scantily clad maiden.
Our path then took us to St Anthony Head and its lighthouse and some amazing views of the coastline.
The Lighthouse at St Anthony Head
The Coastal Path
After stopping for a well-earned picnic lunch on a bench overlooking the sea, we found ourselves at Towan Beach and then wound our way back to the Place Ferry landing via the Thirstea Cafe (where Doug accidentally ordered "black" milk with his coffee, that was duly served up by the staff with theatrical enthusiasm).
Doug at Towan Beach






Comments
Post a Comment